Skip to content

Videos: Memorial Day Tribute 2008

May 25, 2008

 It is Memorial day 2008 and I can’t even begin to put into words the depth of my gratitude, the amount of respect I have, my total appreciation for, and my admiration for all of those who have served in the military, those who are serving in the military, and those that payed the ultimate sacrifice so that I can sit behind this keyboard and express my freedom of speech without consequence.

 So instead I give you these three videos that I found on youtube along with my heartfelt thank you.

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2008 9:53 pm

    Let us never forget the brave men and women who paid the ultimate price for the freedom we enjoy today!

    I invite you to read my Memorial Day Tribute entitled, The Price of Freedom

    SjP

    Like

  2. stushie permalink
    May 25, 2008 10:44 pm

    Memorial Day Sonnet

    If Liberty means anything to me,
    I will remember what my freedom cost,
    By those who gave their all to keep me free,
    Whose lives were sacrificed, but never lost.
    I will remind myself of what they did,
    And keep them dearly cherished in my heart;
    Their honor never from me shall be hid
    And I will know they always did their part
    To save our nation and its people here,
    To pledge their lives in defense of our ways,
    To show that freedom always outlives fear,
    And sacrifice is hallowed all our days.
    If Liberty means anything to me,
    I will remember those who kept me free.

    © John Stuart 2008
    Pastor at Erin Presbyterian Church,
    Knoxville, Tennessee

    Audio at:
    [audio src="http://media.libsyn.com/media/stushie/Memorial_Day.mp3" /]

    Like

  3. ravenscawl permalink
    May 26, 2008 12:44 am

    Sometime the best way to show how you feel is just by Acknowledgment, That you Feel.SHED TEAR- for a SOLDIER

    Like

  4. May 26, 2008 7:13 am

    Freedom is not free and the price is a heavy one but brave men and women have paid that price, in blood, to ensure we live in the greatest nation on the planet.

    Thanks for a great post.

    Like

  5. mustang5860 permalink
    May 26, 2008 9:03 am

    Since I can’t visit the great monuments in D.C. today, your three videos have done a great deal to keep the sacrifice important. Thanks for your time and effort to find them and present them here.

    Like

  6. Deb permalink
    May 27, 2008 8:27 am

    Yes, thank you. As I left work Fri. I asked everyone to please do something patriotic. We have a navy reservist there who just left for Iraq for the second time. So it should be important. Someone else said, I can’t imagine not knowing when you’ll be shot at, and all the noise! That’s what struck me, the not knowing, that’s the bravery and the courage that makes me proud.

    Like

  7. joep72 permalink
    June 7, 2008 3:46 pm

    As a soldier deployed right now in Iraq, I just want to say thanks for the support and for speaking up on our behalf. God bless.

    Joe

    http://sandboxadventures.wordpress.com

    Like

  8. June 7, 2008 8:42 pm

    Wow! Please don’t thank me, you and all others who serve in the military are the ones who deserve the thanks. I can’t begin to tell you how much your comment means to me, I can’t begin to tell you how much your service means to me.
    Thank you for your service and stay safe.

    Like

Leave a comment